Recruiting Followers 101

February 20, 2015

“If anyone wishes to come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” (Luke 9:22-25)

Recruiting Followers 101: Start by selling potential followers on the positive impact following you will make on their lives. Be sure to include the fun activities available to your followers. Remember, they are going to want to know, “What’s in it for me?!”

I’m not sure Jesus took the Recruiting Followers 101 course; or if He did, He certainly did not follow protocols. If I want to follow You I must deny myself? Following You means picking up a cross?

Seems like what’s in it for me is not about me at all! And to that, Jesus would say, “Exactly!”

Jesus is not about immediate gratification or short term fixes. He isn’t just selling what you need to get by that day. He is offering eternal life. He is pushing short-term sacrifice and hardship in exchange for a place with Him in Paradise.

It isn’t for everyone. Some who heard about Jesus came to listen to His message. The self-denial and cross-carrying argument simply did not appeal to them.

He knew then and knows now that not everyone will buy what He is selling, but He will be ringing our doorbells soon to try again. He will never give up on us.

Leave a Reply

