It’s Not About Me

March 4, 2015

“…whoever wishes to be great among you shall be your servant.” (Matthew 20:27)

The theme of today’s Gospel: It’s not about me.

When I focus on me, I become “of the world.” What do I want? What do I need? How can things or other people satisfy me? Further, if my focus is on me, it cannot possibly be on God. I heard a speaker say once, “If you’re focused on more than one thing, all you’re gonna get is cross-eyed.”

Hmmm….well then, how can I focus on serving others and focus my attention on God? Here’s the difference: Serving others and focusing my attention on God are one and the same. They are interchangeable.

Whatever you do for the least of My brothers….

Leave a Reply

