Anniversary of Ordination

June 23, 2015

Today marks the 3rd anniversary of my ordination.

Before deacon formation and ordination: I went about my business; went to work; went to Mass on Sundays; and prayed occasionally. However, I always had a nagging feeling that something else was expected of me. I felt like I was supposed to be doing more with my faith life and for God.

Since ordination: I go about God’s business; I pray the Liturgy of the hours daily, assist at 2-5 Masses per week, preach regularly, baptize babies, witness marriages, assist at funerals, write a daily blog, visit the sick, work with the homeless…along with my paying job as a high school principal.

I have never been busier in my life. At the same time, I have never felt more fulfilled. I am more in love with Carol. I have a stronger faith. I care more about others. Most importantly, I have better relationship with God and am more open to His love.

Ordination is a gift I do not take for granted. I love being a deacon.

Happy anniversary to my sixteen deacon brothers who were ordained with me on June 23, 2012.

ellie's baptism

5 thoughts on “Anniversary of Ordination

  1. Congratulations Rick! Many of us are thankful that you listened to God’s call and completed the arduous training to become a Deacon. We are pleased that you are happy and glad this has been an enriching experience for you. We are thrilled that you have enriched our lives — and the lives of so many others — through your work as a Deacon. Thank you.
    Lisa and Nick

  2. Thanks for doing all you do. I know your homilies and blogs have really made a difference in my life. May God continue to bless you.

  3. Congratulations on your anniversary. Thank you for answering God’s call. Blessings to both you and Carol on this special day! Therese S T. L U K E C A T H O L I C C H U R C H Witness through Stewardship

    Therese Hartley Volunteer Coordinator/Stewardship Department 7575 Holliday Drive East Indianapolis, Indiana 46260 (317) 259-4373 x 248 (317) 254-3210 Fax E-mail:thartley@stluke.org Web: http://www.stluke.org

    >

  4. Happy Anniversary, Rick! You are a gift to us! Your presence as a deacon at St. Plus has made a very significant difference in my family’s liturgical experience. You teach and inspire us to be the best people we can be in all we are personally called to do. You remind me that we are all human, but we can always strive to be more like Christ by taking time to listen to him. Thank you for sharing your gift of strong faith and commitment with us. We are so very grateful!

Leave a Reply

