Being Attentive to God’s Presence

July 6, 2015

When Jacob awoke from his sleep, he exclaimed,
“Truly, the LORD is in this spot, although I did not know it!”  (Genesis 28:10-22)

I know Jacob’s feelings well, this “after-the-fact” recognition of God’s presence in my life. There are times when I am experiencing beauty, joy, sorrow, or pain and I feel something wash over me. I am able to appreciate the moment, good or bad, and see clearly how to move forward. I tend to credit this clarity to circumstances, or more often, to my own abilities. I pat myself on the back and go about my life.

It is not until later, in reflective prayer, that I am able to see God’s hand in those experiences. To echo Jacob’s sentiment, I discover that God was there, “although I did not know it.”

We are presented with these sacramental moments every day. They are free-flowing gifts from God, with no expectation that He will receive anything in return; they are examples of His unconditional love.

I pray that I am able to live in the moment, and be truly attentive to God’s presence in my life.

Leave a Reply

