Selective Feeding

August 3, 2015

Taking the five loaves and the two fish, and looking up to heaven,
he said the blessing, broke the loaves,
and gave them to the disciples,
who in turn gave them to the crowds.
They all ate and were satisfied...  (Matthew 14:13-21)

Each time I have read the parable of the loaves and fishes, my focus has been on the miracle of the multiplication of resources. With only five loaves and two fish, Jesus was able to feed 5,000+ and have plenty left over.

Different words jumped out from the Gospel as I read it today: “They all ate and were satisfied…”

School starts next week. We will be having a staff retreat on Friday, and I have been planning my initial message to the staff. I want to emphasize the need to reach out to all of our students, not letting anyone fall through the cracks.

Today’s Gospel provided me the words: We must feed them all.

We cannot selectively feed those who come to us. The Gospel does not say that Jesus went through the crowd, deciding who would eat and who would not eat. He fed them all; and they were all satisfied – He met the needs of each individual.

As educators, we are given those same marching orders: Teach every child. Provide each child what he or she needs. Feed them all until they are satisfied.

For Christians, it is the same: Go out and make disciples of all men.

Challenge yourself by asking the question: Am I feeding everyone I encounter, or am I being selective in my feeding?

Leave a Reply

