Circle of Faith

November 2, 2015

The following is a post from a CaringBridge site, following the progress of John McCormick. John has a glioblastoma, a cancerous tumor in his brain. He and his wife, Laurie, are friends and members of my parish. Laurie posted these thoughts recently and I think they serve as a beautiful reminder of the power of prayer.

…then I started thinking about all of the people that we hear from wanting to remind us that they are also praying to God.  Also “standing in line” to talk to God for John. So I had this visual, being the visual learner I am. I pictured John standing there with me on one side, Sean on the other and Kiernan and Brendan on the ends. 

Then I saw all of my siblings and parents, their spouses and kids off one side and all of John’s siblings, their kids and spouses off the other sides.  And behind us in the next row were our extended family, aunts and uncles and cousins. Next row our friends, next row friends of our family, next row friends of our friends and so on. It was so deep you could not see the people anymore. 

Surrounding our big group of family, friends, co-workers, parishioners, etc. was a large circle. A Circle of Faith. Trying to break through that circle is hard and when one of us falls because of sadness, or stress, the gap closes between the people. I have told my kids that having just one friend you can trust and love is a blessing, let alone many.  

I was lucky to get to marry my best friend. But to know that so many friends are out there praying for us, supporting us and fighting for us and John’s health is overwhelming.

I just wanted to share the way I see how all of you are behind us and how I believe we are surrounded by this Circle of Faith. It is an amazing feeling and I can truly feel the hugs from wherever you are! 

We all need to keep the Circle of Faith strong and tight to win this battle!

Please become part of John’s Circle of Faith by praying for him and Laurie and their kids in this ongoing battle. You can follow John’s progress at http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/mrjohnmccormick

One thought on “Circle of Faith

  1. Thank you so much Deacon Rick. We are so fortunate to have the love and support by so many. The more prayers the better! We welcome them all! God Bless.

Leave a Reply

