Complete Submission to the Will of God

December 8, 2015 – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary

“Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.” (Luke 1:26-38)

Complete submission to the will of God – that is the bar Mary set for us.

We may think that submitting to the will of God takes away our freedom. If we do not have control, how could we be exercising free will?

Just the opposite is true. Total submission to the will of God defines freedom. When we say, “Yes” to God – when we truly submit – our fear and anxiety will melt away. Trust will replace the fear and hope will replace the anxiety.

I wish I had Mary’s resolve and sense of urgency to do God’s will. I wish I was willing to relinquish all control to God. Unfortunately, I have not yet been able to do that. It continues to be a challenge for me.

My goal (are you allowed to have a goal when you are giving up control?) is to prayerfully give up control a little at a time.

Leave a Reply

