I Loved the Dry Cake

June 2, 2016

Be eager to present yourself as acceptable to God… (2 Timothy 2:14)

While I was in high school, I used to love going to one of my friend’s house. Mrs. Lammers always made me feel welcomed and loved. I was the most important person in the world when I entered the Lammers house as a guest.

I found it amusing that she always sounded concerned about what I would encounter in her home:

  • “I’m so sorry you have to see the house in such a mess.”
  • “You’re welcome to some cake, but it’s pretty dry.”
  • “I haven’t been to the grocery, so there is nothing to drink other than water from the tap.”

To be honest, her house was a mess sometimes. However, I did not mind sitting in her messy house, eating dry cake and drinking tap water – because there was love in the house, and that’s what was most important.

I think that is what Paul is telling Timothy in today’s first reading. Putting on a tie and combing your hair before church are nice things to do, but they are not the most important things to God. What He really wants is for us to open up our homes (lives) to Him.

He doesn’t mind seeing us warts and all, as long as He feels welcomed and loved.

 

Leave a Reply

