Maybe I’m the One

June 3, 2016 – Solemnity of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus

“What man among you having a hundred sheep and losing one of them would not leave the ninety-nine in the desert and go after the lost one until he finds it?”   (Luke 15:3-7)

We have heard this story many times. Jesus used the story to assure us that God loves each and every one of us. He is the Good Shepherd, who knows each of His sheep by name. When one of the sheep is lost, He will not rest until that sheep is safely back home.

Each time I read this Scripture passage, I picture the poor stray sheep, wandering aimlessly…tired, lonely, scared. Did it break away from the flock because it chose the wrong path? Did it go out in search of something that was missing in their lives and lose its way in the darkness? Did the Good Shepherd’s voice no longer bring it comfort?

Of course, when I place myself in the story, I am one of the ninety-nine who stayed back while God went to search for the one lost sheep.

I am going to take some time today to reflect on another possibility: Am I the lost sheep?  Am I on the wrong path and not even aware of it? Am I the stray?

Is God out there looking for me?

Leave a Reply

