Can You at Least Set Your Nets Down for a Few Minutes?

September 2, 2016

Jesus said to Simon, “Do not be afraid;
from now on you will be catching men.”
When they brought their boats to the shore,
they left everything and followed him. (Luke 5:10-11)

At our school Mass yesterday, I preached on the gospel passage above. I acknowledged that most of us are not quite there when it comes to having the courage to drop our nets and follow Jesus – that is, to leave our way of life behind, and completely trust Him and follow Him. I wish I could say with certainty that I would respond as Peter, James, and John did. However, if I am honest, I am not sure I am courageous enough.

So perhaps we could look at taking baby steps:

  • Can I give up 10 minutes of my time to pray at night?
  • Can I give up a Saturday morning to help at the soup kitchen?
  • Even if I am in a hurry, can I go talk to a person I see who is crying? Can I push the pause button and console that person?
  • Can I put everything aside and spend a few minutes in solitude…and in the peace and quiet take time to listen to what Jesus has to say.

The question is, if you are not ready to drop your net and follow Jesus, can you at least set it down for a few minutes?

 

One thought on “Can You at Least Set Your Nets Down for a Few Minutes?

  1. Very good way of looking at it, and easing our way into becoming more like Jesus. Really am happy to have subscribed to your reflections. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

