Getting the Message Out

September 14, 2016

God so loved the world that he gave his only-begotten Son (John 3:16)

Today’s Gospel offers us perhaps the most well-known Gospel verse in the Bible.

“John 3:16 Guy” has done his part by taking the verse out to the common man. We see him with a painted face and a rainbow colored wig in the end zone of every NFL game. We see him being chased across a baseball diamond by security in the middle of a game, holding up a cardboard sign with the words “John 3:16” scrawled on it. I’ve even seen “John 3:16 Guy” animated on an episode of The Simpsons.

I am not a jump-up-and-down kind of guy. No one would describe me as flashy. I cannot imagine ever painting my face and wearing a rainbow-colored wig at an NFL game. (I would feel uncomfortable wearing a foam finger.) I certainly would never chance arrest by running through a baseball game with a John 3:16 sign.

But there he is, making sure the message gets out.

I could never be “John 3:16 Guy,” but I like him. We need him.

Leave a Reply

