“May I Die Only for You”

October 19, 2016 – Memorial of Saints John de Brebeuf and Isaac Jogues, Priests, and Companions, Martyrs

On this day of memorial, a few words attributed to Saints Jean de Brebeuf and Isaac Jogues that capture their full commitment to God:

“On receiving the blow of death, I shall accept it from your hands with the fullest delight and joy of spirit. For this reason, my beloved Jesus, and because of the surging joy which moves me, here and now I offer my blood and body and life. May I die only for you, if you will grant me this grace, since you willingly died for me. Let me so live that you may grant me the gift of such a happy death. In this way, my God and Saviour, I will take from your hand the cup of your sufferings and call on your name: Jesus, Jesus, Jesus!” – St. John de Brebeuf

“My confidence is placed in God who does not need our help for accomplishing his designs. Our single endeavor should be to give ourselves to the work and to be faithful to him, and not to spoil his work by our shortcomings” – St. Isaac Jogues

Leave a Reply

