A Plug for Catholic Education

November 3, 2016

Weekly letter to the parents of our school community:

We will be hosting our annual Open House at school this evening. In preparation for this event, the students were asked to complete a brief survey to “weigh in” on their Catholic high school experience.

Sometimes as adults working with young people, we can feel like we are spinning our wheels. However, when we had the chance to read some of their responses to our questions, it was clear that it’s all worth it. Here are a few of those questions and responses:

What does your school mean to you?

  • “It’s my home away from home. It is my family and my community.”
  • “It a place where I can be who I am and not be judged.”
  • “It’s one of the best things that have ever happened to me.”
  • “It’s a place I can go where I know people care about me.”

Finish this sentence: “My Catholic education has taught me ________________

  • …to trust.”
  • …that God makes better plans for me than I could ever make for myself.”
  • …how to live a faith-filled life.”
  • …the value of hard work and kindness.”
  • …how to be the face of Jesus to others.”
  • …to appreciate the little things in life and to not take things for granted.”

Why did you choose Catholic education?

  • “When I shadowed, I felt right at home; it felt good and right.”
  • “I saw it was a great community where everyone accepts each other.”

What is the best thing about your school?

  • “No one is alone. Everyone has someone. No one is left out.”
  • “I like the strong sense of family, faith, and unity.”
  • “Walking in every day knowing that I am part of something special.”
  • “I like how easy it is to walk up to a teacher and ask a question or just have a conversation.”

I have used the term “walking billboards” when talking about our students (or our “product” in marketing terms). They are the best advertisement we have for Catholic education.

 

 

 

One thought on “A Plug for Catholic Education

  1. This is beautiful and brought tears to my eyes. Thank you

    On Thu, Nov 3, 2016 at 6:33 AM, From the Deacon’s Desk wrote:

    > deaconrickwagner posted: “November 3, 2016 Weekly letter to the parents of > our school community: We will be hosting our annual Open House at school > this evening. In preparation for this event, the students were asked to > complete a brief survey to “weigh in” on their Catholic hig” >

Leave a Reply

