Handmaid of the Lord

December 20, 2016

Mary said, “Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord.
May it be done to me according to your word.” (Luke 1:26-38)

Today’s Gospel relays the story of the most famous and unselfish “Yes” in history.

Mary, a young virgin we believe was around 14 years of age, listened to the angel Gabriel’s message. The angel detailed how Mary was to give birth to the Son of God through the power of the Holy Spirit. Mary’s simple response  revealed her incredible faith. She replied, “May it be done to me according to your word.”

She didn’t say, “Let me think about it” or “Let me see how it fits into my plans.”

How do we respond to God? Do we answer His call? Do we say, “Your will be done” and mean it?

I say “Your will be done” every day as a part of my morning prayer. Yet more often than not, I fail. I have difficulty relinquishing control. If I am not in control, I am vulnerable; and to be vulnerable is to be weak, right?

The willingness to say “Yes” to God’s will defines faith. As faith-filled people, we must be willing to relinquish control despite the fact it leaves us vulnerable…despite the fact we might be perceived as weak…despite the fact it scares us to death.

Mary offers us a beautiful witness to such a faith.

Leave a Reply

