In the Midst of the Assembly

January 10, 2017

I will proclaim your name to my brethren,
in the midst of the assembly I will praise you.
(Hebrews 2:12)

I have often said – in homilies, on retreats, at staff meetings – “Your faith is personal, but it is not private.” Today’s reading from Hebrews captures that sentiment.

We have been given an incredible gift by God. How selfish it would be to keep it to ourselves – to hoard it or keep it under lock and key.

We often hide behind the excuse, “I am a private person, I am not comfortable sharing my faith…it’s personal.”

Well, I agree with the “personal” part of that statement. One of the real treasures of our faith is that it is personal. My relationship with Jesus Christ is different than your relationship with Him. We are blessed that God gives us, as unique individuals, just what we need.

However, He expects us to take our faith out into the world. We are called to be both disciples and apostles. As apostles, we are sent out to proclaim the Good News.

Stretch yourself! Proclaim your faith openly and honestly – “in the midst of the assembly.” Know that you do this not only by how you live your life, but also but what you say.

I wish I could say that such efforts are always successful and that everyone you encounter will be open to what you have to say. However, that is not the case. It is difficult work. It is challenging. God’s work often is.

However, you never know who may be listening. And if you turn one soul toward Jesus, isn’t it worth the effort?

Leave a Reply

