God Won’t Give Up on You

January 25, 2017 – Feast of the Conversion of St. Paul, Apostle

Immediately things like scales fell from his eyes and he regained his sight. (Acts 9:1-22)

The conversion of Saul is a dramatic example of God turning around a life headed in the wrong direction. A flash of light knocked Saul to the ground, and he found himself blind. He was without sight for three days until the Holy Spirit entered him and “things like scales fell from his eyes and he regained sight.”

Perhaps God has “converted” you  at some point in your life. Maybe it has happened multiple times. I know it has for me. Nothing as dramatic as flashes of light causing physical blindness, but I have found myself blind in other ways – spiritually blind, blind to my faith, and blind to the many blessings in my life.

Thank goodness God did not give up on me. He put people in my life who helped me see again – people who loved me, tolerated me, and gave witness to how to live a faith-filled Christian life.

He put me in situations that removed the scales from my eyes and allowed me to see again, to feel compassion for the world around me, and to respond.

Heavenly Father,

Like Saul, there are times in my life that I cannot see the beauty of the world around me. I am spiritually dry and my faith is weak. I pray that You do not give up on me. Continue to put people in my life who will help me see again. Continue to give me opportunities to see the world clearly. Remove the scales from my eyes so that I can see the path You want me to take. I am weak, but with Your help I know anything is possible.

Amen 

Leave a Reply

