“Look at what I’ve done for the world”

February 8, 2017

Jesus summoned the crowd again and said to them, “Hear me, all of you, and understand. Nothing that enters one from outside can defile that person; but the things that come out from within are what defile.” (Mark 7:14-23)

In today’s Gospel, we are called to be accountable.

It is not the outside world that creates who we are, but rather how we respond to the outside world. Too often we allow the outside world or circumstances to direct our behavior. It is easier. Why bother swimming upstream? Why not go with the flow?

However, when we respond with love and positive energy to the negativity of the world, even when we are in the minority, we make a difference. We can be the pebble that causes the ripple.

We are our own worst enemy. We allow ourselves to be controlled rather than to seize control.

We look at our troubled lives and say, “Look at what the world has done to me.” Wouldn’t we rather look back on our lives and say, “Look at what I’ve done for the world” ?

One thought on ““Look at what I’ve done for the world”

  1. I just read this post today, 2/16. It has been a rough day as negative things have happened and I sometimes feel like “what’s the use?” As hard as I try to be nice to people, some people don’t respond by in kind. I will keep this as a reminder that “I want to make a difference, even if it is one person that I touch.” Thank you. – – Barb

Leave a Reply

