See Everything Distinctly

February 15, 2017

Putting spittle on his eyes he laid his hands on the man and asked,
“Do you see anything?”
Looking up the man replied, “I see people looking like trees and walking.”
Then he laid hands on the man’s eyes a second time and he saw clearly;
his sight was restored and he could see everything distinctly. (Mark 8:22-26)

It is a very interesting gospel reading from Mark today. Did Jesus fail in his effort to cure the man’s blindness? Is that possible?

It is not the only time we see Jesus with “limited” powers: And he did not work many mighty deeds there because of their lack of faith. (Matthew 13:58)

When I read today’s gospel, I think of my own shortcomings. I think of my tendency to repeat sins, making the same mistakes over and over again. Each time Jesus has come back, offering me forgiveness and a fresh start. Eventually, He and I both hope that I will “see clearly” and my “sight will be restored”, allowing me to “see everything distinctly.”

Jesus does not fail in His efforts. The power of Jesus is dependent on our faith in Him. When we doubt Him, or lose sight of His presence in our lives, we fail Him.

 

Leave a Reply

