Jesus Calls the Sinful and Broken

February 22, 2017 -Feast of the Chair of St. Peter

“And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my Church…” (Matthew 16: 13-19)

Whenever I am feeling unworthy of my ordination, or lamenting my own sinfulness and weakness, I need only look to who Jesus chose as His greatest apostle.

Peter: A man to whom Jesus once said, “Get behind me, Satan!” A man that often had doubts of his own worthiness. A man who denied three times that he even knew Jesus.

Jesus chose Peter, this broken, sinful, “regular guy” as the rock upon which He built His church. This man became our first Pope.

I don’t believe when Jesus chose Peter He did so randomly. It was His method of operation to carefully choose ordinary men, sinful and broken. In so doing, He sent us an important message: “All are welcome. All are called.”

As part of His apostolic Church, we have an obligation to answer that call as well.

 

Leave a Reply

