Peace Be With You

April 20, 2016 – Thursday in the Octave of Easter  

“Peace be with you” (Luke 24:37)

What a wonderful gift Jesus is giving His disciples – the gift of peace.

I am not a very demonstrative person. There are not many things that make me angry or frustrate me. People often tell me I have a calming presence.

That has not always been the case. In the past, I allowed things to get to me. I allowed the actions of others or circumstances out of my control to eat away at me. Sometimes it bubbled up inside of me and piled up as stress and anxiety. Other times it came out in the form of anger or resentment.

So what is different now? I am at peace. My relationship with Jesus has grown and I live each day secure in the fact that He is with me.

Peace be with you.

How could knowing that Jesus offers His peace and His presence to me not settle my nerves and calm me? With peace comes a new perspective: I am comfortable with who I am, faults and all. I am more accepting of others, faults and all. I don’t spend time stressing over things that are outside of my control. I am confident that Jesus walks at my side.

The words from today’s Gospel are used in the celebration of the Mass. The priest says these words before inviting the congregation to offer one another the sign of peace.

Next time someone turns to you at Mass and offers you the peace of Christ, keep in mind what a beautiful gift you are being given.

Leave a Reply

