Reach Toward the Light

May 10, 2017

I came into the world as light, so that everyone who believes in me might not remain in darkness. (John 12:44-50)

When I think back on some of the times in my life that I have been afraid, quite a few of those memories involve darkness: being in the basement as a small boy when someone turned the lights off, camping at night when a storm rolled in, and feeling my way through a dark haunted house.

I can just as easily remember that it was the introduction of light that eased my fear. Lights flipped on in the basement. The morning light breaking through at the end of the storm. A door opening at the end of the hallway of the haunted house. Light almost immediately made things better.

In John’s Gospel today we hear that Jesus came into the world as light. He came to break up the darkness, the fear, that can rule our lives.

A plant will “reach out” and grow toward the light. As disciples of Jesus we have that same opportunity. We simply need to reach out of the darkness toward the light of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

