Five Years as a Deacon!

June 23, 2017

Today marks the 5th anniversary of my ordination.

Before deacon formation and ordination: I went about my business: I went to work, went to Mass on Sundays, and prayed occasionally. However, I always had a nagging feeling that something else was expected of me. I felt like I was supposed to be doing more with my faith life, more for God.

Since ordination: I go about God’s business: I pray the Liturgy of the hours daily, assist at 2-5 Masses per week, preach regularly, baptize babies, witness marriages, assist at funerals, write a daily blog, visit the sick, work with the homeless…along with my paying job as a high school principal.

I have never been busier in my life. At the same time, I have never felt more fulfilled. I am more in love with Carol. I am a better father and grandfather (I think). I have a stronger faith. I care more about others. Most importantly, I have better relationship with God and am more open to His love.

Ordination is a gift I do not take for granted. I love being a deacon.

Happy anniversary to my sixteen deacon brothers who were ordained with me on June 23, 2012. Please keep us all in prayer today.

laying on of hands.jpg

4 thoughts on “Five Years as a Deacon!

  1. You can’t out give God. You are living witness to that. May God continue to bless you for answering the call to being a permanent deacon. You bless us and inspire us to answer God’s call and say yes to our vocation.

  2. Happy 5th Anniversary of your Deaconate Ordination. You are a gift from God to all of us at St. Prius. Your friendship & support are most appreciated.

    I will now always remember this date. My Dad passed away 42 years ago today.

    Blessings always to you, Carol & your family.

    Mary Ann

Leave a Reply

