You and God Together

August 12, 2017

The Lord will fight for you; you only have to keep still. (Exodus 14:14)

Yesterday we celebrated Mass at school, using specially chosen readings that tied in with our school theme for the year, Be Still and Know that I am God. In my homily, I focused on the importance of stillness and maintaining a strong faith.

When we slow down long enough to give time to God, we grow in our relationship with Him. It is important that we are deliberate in notching out time for stillness. Such stillness has other benefits: When we grow in our relationship with God, we also become more “in tune” with who we are. This increased self-awareness helps us to truly see others – to recognize their gifts and be sensitive to their needs.

A strong faith is needed because, quite frankly, we can’t do it alone. We think we can, but we can’t. We often hear it said, God won’t give you more than you can handle.

I disagree! From personal experience, I know I have been given more than I can handle at times. I’ve been overwhelmed, buried beneath responsibilities, anxieties, and worries. However, in looking back at those times of struggle, I was trying to do it alone. I lost touch with God or foolishly felt I did not need His help.

God may give you more than you can handle, but He won’t give you more than you and He together can handle.

The Lord will fight for you; you only have to keep still.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

