Kept the Faith

June 29, 2024

Each day, I reflect upon a word or a phrase inspired by the readings of the day. I encourage you to do the same and perhaps incorporate that word or phrase into your daily prayer.

“I have competed well; I have finished the race; I have kept the faith”  (2 Timothy 4:6-8)

KEPT THE FAITH: In today’s letter from Paul to Timothy, we are handed the script for the end of our lives here on earth. We don’t need be able to recount hundreds of accomplishments. We won’t be asked to list the souls we’ve saved, or detail the world’s problems we have solved.

Instead, we will need to be able to lock eyes with Jesus and say, “I lived my life the best way I knew how, always trying to keep You as my focus.”

This simple, humble statement, like that heard in today’s reading, acknowledges our humanity. We are not perfect. We stumble along the way, seeking forgiveness at those times. Then we brush ourselves off and get back to work.

If we can look in the mirror and know we have done this, we will be exalted when our time comes.

Leave a comment